The Ryder Cup

The Ryder cup is a men’s golf competition that takes place every two years between teams from the United States and Europe and the venue for the event alternates between the two each time.

The cup is named after the man who donated the original trophy, English businessman Samuel Ryder.

This year the matches of the 41st Ryder Cup will be held in the United States at the Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minnesota from Sep 30th to Oct 2nd 2016. Europe will be entering the completion as the cup holders due to their win in Scotland in 2014.

The venue for the 2016 Ryder Cup that the PGA of America had selected was announced on the 22nd of April 2016.

The Ryder Cup is a match play event and each match is worth 1 point. The format of the competition will be:

Day 1(Friday): 4 four-ball (better ball) matches and 4 foursome (alternate shot) matches

Day 2 (Saturday): 4 four-ball matches and 4 foursome matches

Day 3 (Sunday): 12 Single matches

On day 1 and day 2 the home captain chooses which matches are played in the morning and which are in the afternoon.

All matches are played to a maximum of 18 holes and there are a total of 28 points to be had. 14 and a half points are needed to win the cup and 14 points are needed for the defending champion to hold on to the cup.

The normal order of the holes for the course will differ when the cup is played. The current holes 1-4 and 14-18 will be the front nine and the current holes 5-9 and 10-13 will be the back nine.