Are you ready for the golf masters this April?

This year the (Golf) Masters Tournament will be the 81st game of the Masters Tournament. The event is scheduled for April 6–9 at Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Georgia, USA.

So what is the Masters?

The Masters is an invitation event, with players coming from all over the world trying to be crowned as the master. However the players must pass qualifying criteria’s that determines who is included in the field, for more information please click here. Another way to qualify for the masters are golfers that qualify on their performance in amateur tournaments but must remain in the amateurs on starting day of the tournament to be able to play in the masters.

Previous Winners

Below is a graph detailing who the player was, the country of origin and what year they won in.

Player Country Year(s) won
Danny Willett England 2016
Jordan Spieth United States 2015
Bubba Watson United States 2012
Adam Scott Australia 2013
Charl Schwartzel South Africa 2011
Phil Mickelson United States 2004, 2006, 2010
Ángel Cabrera Argentina 2009
Trevor Immelman South Africa 2008
Zach Johnson United States 2007
Tiger Woods United States 1997, 2001, 2002, 2005
Mike Weir Canada 2003
Vijay Singh Fiji 2000

What is so special about the Augusta National Golf Club?

Apart from being one of the oldest golf clubs (opening in 1933) it is one of the most famous golf courses in the world.

The Club is known to be a traditional institution where traditions and the integrity of the game are passionately guarded. It has been reported that membership for the club costs between $10,000 and $30,000. So im afraid only the wealthy can afford this.